October 17, 2014
Each state has different requirements for students in what must be accomplished to earn their cosmetology license. Avalon School of Cosmetology has four locations in Phoenix, Arizona; Mesa, Arizona; Alameda, California; and Layton, Utah. Take a look at the general overall requirements, as well as some of the specific requirements for each of these states to get a better idea of your cosmetology experience, and what will be expected of you.
The Basic Requirements
While there will be some variation from state to state in terms of hours, the basic requirements are essentially the same across the board. What needs to be accomplished beforehand will be determined by what you are looking for whether that is a cosmetology license, barber license, or esthetician license.
For those looking for a cosmetology license, education is the first step to success. Every state has a minimum number of hours that must be done before completion. These hours should be productive during your time. It is not enough to simply show up, but you must be actively participating in the classroom learning classes, as well as the practical time spent on the floor. There are some states, including California and Utah, that will allow for apprenticeship instead of school to obtain these training hours. Avalon School of Cosmetology offers the best all around training, and is one of the best options for students in these states.
Once you have obtained your cosmetology license, there is a process to keep it up to date. Some states will require you to take additional classes, while others require a simple renewal fee. Learn what is required by your state, and meet those requirements.
California, Utah, and Arizona all have some fairly similar requirements, but others are unique to the state:
California – here a cosmetology license will require 1600 hours of school. Once the license is obtained it must be renewed every two years, the process will take six to eight weeks when done through the automated system. Renewing your license here will cost $50 with an additional $25 when late.
Arizona – it is also necessary to experience 1600 hours of school in Arizona before obtaining a license. Here the license must be renewed every year before the one year mark. This cost is $30 and does not require extra schooling to complete.
Utah – to obtain a cosmetology license in Utah, 1600 hours of school are required. The renewal here comes every two years, and will cost $52. This fee is across the board for cosmetologists, barber instructors, estheticians, and massage therapists.
Before you start your training in cosmetology, learn the requirements of your state. These standards may have an impact on your future career, and where your cosmetology license can take you.